Library Lions

Step one for a lover of children’s literature is, luckily, the same first step recommended when trying to get published in the childrens market: Read, read, read.  This is one time that being a Mama and a writer compliment each other.  My children LOVE to read, and happily indulge me with our weekly trips to the library.  The library is our happy place, and we are creatures of habit. Parking lot rules.  Hold hands to cross the street.  Who wants to put the books in the return box?  Oh, good, lets read some more of those really poorly written Superhero books.  This looks good.  Mo Willems section.  More Julia Donaldson books?  Climb on the fabric mushrooms.  Pick your video.  And finally—Mama gets to look at all the new titles.  I love to see what is being published.  It is a good glimpse into the current market, and our library is kind enough to make a big row of “recent” titles (books maintain this designation for quite some time.)  This row is conveniently located near the children’s videos.  My four year old scans over old Zoboomafoo episodes while my two year old takes every single Dora movie off the shelf.  I pour over the new titles and breathe in the scent of fresh ink.  I read several pages, look for authors names I might recognize from the Blueboards or a conference, and usually pick out another armful of books.  We stumble to the checkout with our arms full, our “library voices” getting a bit louder by now.  I know it’s a library, but I am ALWAYS surprised that they let us leave with so much stuff.  I sort of feel like I’m getting away with something, and in the back of my mind I am waiting for them to say “no, Ma’am, you’ll need to put some back.”  The girls that work the library cafe can see (and hear) us coming, and have our 8 tiny cinnamon rolls packaged before we even order.  We love the library.  The only thing that would make it better is checking out one of my own books.

libraryboy

Standard

12 thoughts on “Library Lions

  1. mirkabreen says:

    I adore your little reader photo. Back when I was that age the mean (er, underfunded) librarians limited us to two checked books a day. And you get rolls, too. Way to go, Mama.

  2. Thank you so much for reading 🙂 I don’t know what we’d do if they limited books! Our library cafe is so awesome. My kids have become addicted to their little cinnamon rolls, so I can no longer get away with skipping that part of the trip. When I say library, they hear cinnamon rolls.lol

  3. Jen Doherty says:

    Cinnamon buns at the library…hmm…I think there is a story in there somewhere! I loved your blog and will definitely be back.

  4. Marcy B says:

    Love your blog!! I always enjoy hearing about your library trips and little readers. You are a wonderful writer in general and I will be one of the first in line to purchase your book once published 🙂

  5. I can so relate to this! I’ve taken my kids to the library since they were toddlers and they still love it. I have a degree in library science so I love that I can show them how to use the Dewey Decimal System to find non-fiction books, put items on hold, search through all kinds of great online resources on the library website. Libraries are such special places!

Leave a comment